Community Foundation 2022 Annual Meeting Recap

Community Foundation Honors Sheila Davies, Elects New Board Members, and Celebrates 40 Years at Annual Meeting

The Outer Banks Community Foundation held its annual meeting virtually via zoom on February 22. Three new board members were elected by Community Foundation membership, and two departing board members were thanked and recognized. Sheila Davies, Director of the Dare County Department of Health and Human Services and Public Health Director, was named as the Community Foundation’s 2021 Champion for her exemplary service and dedication to the Outer Banks in compassionately leading our community during a pandemic and beyond.

“In my 20 plus years living on Outer Banks, I’ve been continually impressed by the loving and giving nature of the people here,” said Dr. Davies. “Time and time again, when needs arise, the Outer Banks Community Foundation, area nonprofits, businesses, government, and citizens step up and create solutions. Congratulations and thank you to the Outer Banks Community Foundation for 40 years of remarkable service and giving to our community.”

Betty Govan Selby, Mayor Pro Tem for the Town of Manteo and Northeastern NC Regional Coordinator for Advance NC; Ray Meiggs of Southern Shores, former Executive Director of both the Arts of the Albemarle and the Whalehead Preservation Trust, and Twiddy & Company real estate executive; and Claudia Neall of Nags Head, a Senior Foreign Language Interpreter with Dare County Department of Health & Human Services and former Director of Mano al Hermano were unanimously elected by Community Foundation membership to serve as at-large board members.

Two retiring board members were thanked for their outstanding service: Jane Webster of Kitty Hawk, who served as the Community Foundation’s Vice Chair in 2020 and 2021 and Grants Chair from 2019 – 2021; and Nancy Caviness of Duck, who served as an at-large board member from 2017 – 2021, including as Scholarship Committee Co-Chair from 2018 – 2021.

In 2021, grants and disbursements went to the community through donor-advised funds ($190,656), organization and designated funds ($169,467), scholarships ($174,900) Community Enrichment and Focus grants ($207,896), and disaster grants ($146,300).

The meeting included a special video honoring Community Foundation founders and Emeritus board members from 1982 to today and celebrating more than 200 funds established and $12 million in grants and scholarships awarded since the Community Foundation began. The seven-minute video, produced by Twiddy & Company, can be seen on the Community Foundation’s website and YouTube page.

Community Foundation President and CEO Chris Sawin acknowledged contributions of talent over the years, starting with Founder David Stick and founding board members Andy Griffith, Edward Greene, Jack Adams, Martin Kellogg, Cashar Evans, Jr., and Ray White, expressing gratitude to them for creating a charity whereby current and future generations can ‘put something back’ for the betterment of all.

Community Foundation Board Chair Clark Twiddy closed the meeting by saying, “We hope to inspire personal generosity; work on behalf of our donors and community on governance, sustainability, and good stewardship of assets; and to create meaningful impact through grants and scholarships, as well as through our full engagement in our communities.”

The Outer Banks Community Foundation is a 501(c)3 nonprofit charitable organization that connects people who care with causes that matter. Based in a historic flat top cottage in Southern Shores, the Community Foundation manages $25 million across more than 200 charitable funds for individuals and agencies, awards grants to nonprofits, administers 60 scholarship programs, and provides tailored services to help donors pursue their charitable interests. Since its inception in 1982, the Community Foundation has awarded more than $12 million in grants and scholarships to local nonprofits and students.


The Outer Banks Community Foundation wishes to thank

– Miles Daniels and Ben Wiener of Twiddy & Company, for producing our 40th Anniversary video

– Twiddy and Company for donating space and technology for our Annual Meeting live stream

– Katy Spore for creating our 40th Anniversary artwork

– Hilton Garden Inn for their use of the Kitty Hawk Fishing Pier for video interviews

– Barb Noel for program layout and design assistance

– Interviewees, speakers, and on-camera – Jack Adams, Pastor Ivey Belch, Lorelei Costa, Jean-Louise Dixon, Cashar Evans, Adrianna Noel Goodwin, Daniel Palacios-Ibarra, Mike Kelly, Alicia Peele, Litzy Velazquez Tovar, and Jane Webster

– Brett Barley for storm video footage

– Daniel Pullen and Outer Banks History Center, Drew C. Wilson Photograph Collection, for use of images