Community Foundation Announces Grant Deadline, Grant Awards

The Outer Banks Community Foundation is currently accepting applications for its Community Enrichment grants program. The application deadline is Friday, February 7. Applications must be completed and submitted online through the Community Foundation’s website:

The Community Foundation awards quarterly Community Enrichment grants to help meet local needs and enrich the quality of life for all people in the Outer Banks. The service area encompasses Dare County and all Outer Banks communities, from Corolla to Ocracoke Island. The Community Foundation will support charitable projects in the areas of: arts & culture; children & youth; education; the environment; disaster relief & prevention; health; historic interpretation & preservation; and other human services.

In 2013 the Community Foundation awarded $375,000 in grants to nonprofits serving the Outer Banks. At their meeting in December, the Community Foundation board awarded Community Enrichment grants to: American Heart Association for middle school CPR education, Children & Youth Partnership for the 2014 State of the Child conference, Croatoan Archaeological Society for the 2014 Hatteras dig, Elizabeth R & Company for the Patsy Cline production, Food for Thought for a pilot summer food program, Hatteras Village Medical Center for x-ray equipment, Interfaith Community Outreach for office equipment, Nature Conservancy for trail signage at Nags Head Woods Preserve, Ocracoke Youth Center for the Ocracoke Community Park, Outer Banks Hotline for a new telephone system, and the YMCA for fitness equipment for special needs clients.

In December the Community Foundation also awarded donor-advised grants to American Legion, Beach Food Pantry, Blue Star Mothers of America, Bryan Cultural Series, Children & Youth Partnership, College of the Albemarle, Creative Choices Crisis Pregnancy Center, Croatoan Archaeological Society, Currituck Free Dental Clinic, Dare County Arts Council, Dare County Sheriff’s Office, Elizabethan Gardens, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, First Flight Society, Food for Thought, Manteo High School, Monday Night Alive, Mt. Olivet Church, Nags Head Elementary PTO, Ocracoke Child Care, Outer Banks Cancer Support Group, Outer Banks Dare Challenge, Outer Banks Relief Foundation, Outer Banks SPCA, Roanoke Island Volunteer Fire Department, Room in the Inn, Town of Southern Shores, and UNC Coastal Studies Institute Foundation, among others.

These donor-advised grants were awarded from the Bingham Family Fund, the Burwell A. Evans Charitable Fund, the Dorothy Scott Townsend Fletcher Memorial Fund, the Friends of Manteo High School Fund, the Giving for Good Giving Circle, the Hester Family Legacy Fund, the Kelly Family Fund, the Phil and Mary Woodruff Endowment Fund, the Simpson-Sharp-Oakes Fund, and an anonymous fund.

The Outer Banks Community Foundation is a public charity that connects people who care with causes that matter. The Community Foundation manages $12 million in 125 charitable funds for individuals and agencies, awards charitable grants to local nonprofits, administers 40 scholarship funds, and provides tailored services to help donors pursue their charitable interests. Since its inception in 1982, the Community Foundation has awarded more than $5 million in grants and scholarships to local nonprofits and students.