Community Foundation Now Accepting Scholarship Applications

The Outer Banks Community Foundation is now accepting scholarship applications online. The application deadline is 11:59 pm, Sunday, March 26. Students may CLICK HERE to start their application.

The Community Foundation manages 50 separate scholarship programs and expects to award over $155,000 to students this year. Graduating high school seniors, current college students, and adult continuing education candidates from Dare County, Currituck County, and Ocracoke are eligible to apply.

Scholarships range from one-time awards of $350, to four-year awards totaling $24,000.

“We have scholarships for a huge diversity of students,” said Lorelei Costa, Executive Director of the Community Foundation. “Art majors, math majors, musicians, firefighters, tennis players, law enforcement majors, cheerleaders, community college students, vocational students, and more — all are encouraged to apply.”

From the Community Foundation’s scholarship launch site, students can apply for any Community Foundation scholarship. Applicants begin the process by completing a short questionnaire, which quickly and easily directs them to the scholarships for which they’re eligible.

From there, students complete one common application, upload one transcript, submit any required essays, and apply for all Community Foundation scholarships for which they are eligible, all in one place. Teachers and community members can provide confidential recommendations online, without having to make multiple copies for multiple applications.

Though many of the Community Foundation’s scholarships are merit-based, the majority of awards consider financial need. For the need-based awards, students are required to complete a FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) and upload the resulting Student Aid Report into their application.

“If I could give one tip to every applicant, it would be: Start early!” said Ms. Costa. “Please don’t wait until March 26 to begin your application. We have a strict deadline, and if you start too late, you might not get your recommendation letters and Student Aid Report in time.”

This year the Community Foundation is launching several new scholarship programs. The Osborne Scholarship, established by Teresa and Butch Osborne, will assist graduating high school seniors from Dare County. Preference may be shown to students with financial need, and those who plan to attend either a North Carolina community college or four-year college.

Also new this year is the Joe Riddick Trade and Technical Scholarship, which will help Dare County students pay for trade and technical courses related to the construction field.

The OBX Scholars Program is also new in 2017. The OBX Scholars Program is the Community Foundation’s broadest scholarship program, and it will assist deserving Dare County and Ocracoke students of all backgrounds, interests, and academic goals attend the college of their dreams.

The Community Foundation is also managing the endowment for the new Wayne Fulcher Art Scholarship, which will support Hatteras or Ocracoke Island high school students seeking to study the arts. This scholarship was established by the Indian Town Gallery in Buxton and will be administered by the Dare County Arts Council; interested students should contact the Arts Council to apply.

The Community Foundation partners with College of the Albemarle (COA) to offer many other, diverse vocational and continuing education scholarships, including the First Flight Society Scholarship, which will support students in the field of aviation systems technology. Also new this year, the Milton Jewell Trade and Technical Scholarship includes special funds for students in COA’s new Hospitality and Tourism Certificate Program, thanks to a donation from Twiddy Realty. Interested students should contact COA to apply.

The Community Foundation also is partnering with Manteo Rotary on the Percy W. and Elizabeth G. Meekins Scholarships for the first time this year. The applications and selections are handled by Manteo Rotary; interested students should contact Rotary to apply.

For descriptions of all Community Foundation scholarships, click here.

Scholarship funds have been generously donated from individuals, families, businesses, nonprofits, civic groups, and government agencies to help local students pursue higher education. Any community member can establish a scholarship fund with the Community Foundation by calling Lorelei Costa at 252-261-8839.

All scholarship winners will be announced at their schools’ Senior Awards Night in May and June.