First Flight High School OBCF Scholarship Recipients Announced

These happy faces are going places! From left to right (click the pic to see it in its entirety), our first 2021 Community Foundation scholarship recipients are James Myers, Jr.; Ethan Thorn; Lydia Surprenant; Cassie Honeycutt; Wallace Piland, IV; Savannah Sawin; Aiden Beard; Jacob Thomas; and Ivanna Gonzalez-Sanchez. More than $31,000 in first-year scholarship awards from your Community Foundation were presented at First Flight High School’s Awards Night on May 17.

Representatives from the Community Foundation, Dare County Sheriff’s office, Duck’s Woods Ladies Golf Association, and Outer Banks Association of Realtors were on hand to distribute award letters to these rising college freshmen.

The funds behind last night’s awards are the Charles H. & Dorothy S. Luedemann Art Scholarship (renewable), Robert E. Rollason, Jr. Scholarship, Frank M. Cahoon Scholarship, Outer Banks Association of Realtors Scholarship, Sawyer Scholarship (renewable), Jerry & Arlene Davis Scholarship (renewable), OBX Scholars Fund (renewable), Rex Sample Scholarship for Courage and Determination, Glenn & Pat Eure Scholarship for Arts Education (renewable), Dare County Fire Officers Association Scholarship, and the Duck Woods Ladies Golf Association Founders Scholarship.

Congratulations, students and THANK YOU, fund establishers!