Cape Hatteras Secondary School Graduating Seniors Awarded $31,000

Congratulations, Cape Hatteras scholarship recipients! These hard-working, determined students will go to college next year with help, thanks to Community Foundation scholarship fund establishers. The first year awards for these students is $31,500, and several scholarships are renewable for up to four years. The R. Stewart Couch Hatteras Island Scholarship was awarded to Johan Briones; he plans to pursue a degree in Communications at ECU. Eliza Quidley was awarded the Josephine A. Oden Memorial Scholarship, which is renewable up to four years; she also received the Osborne Scholarship, the Wallace H. McCown Scholarship, and the Dare County Fire Officers Association Scholarship. Eliza plans to major in Human Biology at NC State. The Elizabeth and Wayne Evans Scholarship, which is renewable up to four years, was awarded to Laya Barley; she also received the Inez Daniels Austin Scholarship. Laya plans to pursue a degree in Nursing at ECU. Maria Bradley walked away with the Greg and Eden Honeycutt Scholarship and the Outer Banks Association of Realtors Scholarship; she plans to study Education at Clarion University. Victor Caldera was awarded the Dare County Fire Officers Association Scholarship; he plans to study Architecture and Construction Management at UNC-Charlotte. Andrew Austin and Laura Hooper each received scholarships from Outer Banks Association of Realtors. Andrew plans to study at Craven Community College to be a Physical Therapy Assistant, and Laura intends to study Biology at UNC-Chapel Hill. We are thrilled for these aspiring high school graduates, and wish them all the best as they go forward in life.

Are you interested in creating a scholarship fund to support deserving local students? Start your journey here, and call us to discuss the type of program you’re most interested in.